Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Should national authorities offer a free charge for higher educational level to any of those who pass the schools’ admissions but being unable to afford the tuition? Some believe that governments should supply full financial aid, whilst others would argue the full financial support from government is necessary but not for every admitted candidates with inability to afford tuition. After weighting the evidences, I find the latter viewpoint more convincing as the difference in national status of each country and the inefficiency of the policy as former viewpoint if applied.

The status in economic, politics, health care, social demand is far different from each country resulting in the practice of full financial aid from governments for higher education seems unreasonable for some countries, especially undeveloped nations and territories. The profound population, more than 1.3 billion people, is a problematic issue to hinder China to pursue the dream of free tertiary education. China would have to trade-off the miracle economic boom or highly scientific breaking-through and the budget balance into multi fields, which now might gain higher priority than education for China. Like China, Zimbabwe could not follow the free tertiary education because the fact that Zimbabwe now confronts with starving and low GDP, below 1 USD. Therefore, free education even with basic educational level seems as quixotic idea.

Though the idea of free higher education sounds great in writing and for policy followers, the idea still so audacious due to no certainty in its return on risk and an overextending government spending. Every governments quite certainly dream of free education but balanced budget in investment in different fields should be judiciously considered for profitable benefit for all citizens but not students. Besides, education is necessary for development but taking education for granted would not encourage students to optimize the educational years. For instance, in Viet Nam, most students enter universities with no clear what major they will follow, why they follow the chosen major, so the free of charge to university seem unprofitable from government, specifically citizens tax. Or even with highly developed nation like America, tuition loan seems prevalent as a tool to support students to access higher education with less risk for government and also an encouragement for student to learn better to being worth the debt they bear.

In conclusion, full financial aid for admitted students who are unable to pay tuition is great but inapplicable free of charge higher education policy should not be practiced due to its inefficient investment and the different statuses of each country.