Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As college tuition increases exponentially, it is no surprise that students and some law makers are interested in creating a free higher education system. Recent studies show as high as 40% of all college students graduate with debt and many are unable to get ahead. With that being said, the idea of free higher education is not economically feasible. Providing a bachelor's degree free of charge is detrimental because by allowing one's basics to be free, the four-year degree will cease to hold merit, in some regards it already has. Secondly, with a population in countries such as the United States and India where there is an increasing number of teens and young adults, current tax payers will not be able to meet the rising cost that comes with providing education across the board. Finally, rather than providing free tuition, the governments should be more focused on insuring that universities an colleges lower tuitions.

If governments were to offer free higher education to students, a bachelor's degree would become just another high school diploma. In the United States, where free education is provided through the twelfth grade, many students are not incentivized by the notion of excelling in the academic endeavors, and though K-12 education yields many important life skills, higher education is meant as a tool to help an individual specialize in a particular field. If governments were to extend free higher education to all students, universities would see many students who are simply attending the colleges because their parents made them, or governments could begin requiring students to obtain the Bachelor's degree. In either scenario, the weight that a Bachelor's degree carries would be greatly diminished and the work force would be over saturated with persons holding a Bachelor's degree, a situation that is already developing. There is no need to exacerbate the situation. Instead, governments should focus on further funding trade schools and providing more federal aid programs in that area. Though some would argue that this creates a class distinction, private scholarship and federal aid should correct for the issues of students from lower-income who have high academic potential.

The current tax system in countries that do not offer a free education system are not equipped to begin handling free higher education. European countries, and other regions that provide free education to some college students have a far lower overall population and a smaller portion of those attending university. In the United States and developing countries, the sheer number of young adults are too high to implement an affordable tax among other citizens. Many would feel that it is not their responsibility to pay for another person's education, especially when higher education is optional. Tax payers are already having to pay for public school education for K-12, and the average citizen believes he/she is already being taxed too high. There exists no funding that could provide for the added expense. Supporters of free education state that by buying into free education for all now, tax payers can be assured that current students would obtain high paying jobs which would then contribute to the social security of those retiring; however, with the current situation of social security, there is no guarantee that there is enough current funding to continue social security in the foreseeable future.

Universities and colleges across the globe are continually increasing rates, and many times it feels as if there is no apparent reason. instead of raising tuition for students, leaving them in crippling debt, college and universities should focus on lowering tuition. Higher education has not always been unaffordable, and it is time for governments to start holding universities accountable for uncontrolled tuition instead of giving in by providing free tuition.

College education used to be affordable with most students coming out of college with little to no debt. The universities and colleges are the ones that need to be held responsable to these increases rather than passing it on to the tax payers. An influx of students obtaining their Bachelor's degree would saturate the market, and universities around would begin seeing disinterested students who are only furthering their studies because it is free. The only feasible way to provide free higher education is to pass it onto the tax payer which is both unpopular and unfair. There are other methods to making college and universities more affordable such as lowering tuition, increasing private funding, and advocating for trade schools, but offering free higher education is not a practical solution.