Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Research and development (R&D) are undoubtedly one of the most crucial parts to embrace progress for the community. It has been widely believed that the government can play a significant role to the embellishment of the scientific accomplishments. The prompt as outlined here argues that government should not enforce restrictions at all or few if any to the path of scientific research. I strongly agree with the statement and argue for it for two specific reasons.

To begin, legal impediments on R&D may hamper the growth of learning which consequently make the country less competent globally. On the other hand, being lenient to the research community may bring some novel outputs to the country people. For example, Tomas Alva Edison in his journey to discover the bulb, often criticized by the federal government to obtain funds. Nonetheless, when he left his motherland and applied for foreign grants, his contribution was greatly acknowledged and all logistical supports were provided. This paved the way to brighten the world with the invention of light bulb, although Edison always expressed his disappointments not to get help locally and contribute to his country people. From this illustration, it can be safely affirmed that government should be flexible and give the researchers ample opportunities to gain more achievements to the country.

Furthermore, international collaboration and coordination might be hampered in case of being a rigid government. It has been widely believed that no satisfactory solutions can be achieved in case of a country's pressing problem without the intervention of foreign collaboration. If researchers can get all the necessary supports from the local government to buy equipment from the foreign traders, jointly co-author research findings in the top-notch journals and of course, get the required fund from the government agency, they certainly can contribute to the country's welfare. For instance, if a country doesn't allow letter of credit (LC) or not pliable to the foreign business for research purpose, most of the researchers will not be eager any longer to conduct researches for the society. In that case, the country will actually encounter the darks without the light of sun and become a technologically laggard nation.

To summarize, because of some negative consequences like nuclear reactors or atomic bombs, many people tend to establish that government should be stringent enough about scientific discovery. However, I strongly urge that with the necessary support, it is possible to discover alternatives to these questionable innovations and gain other accomplishments. In my opinion, government should provide plethora of opportunities and flexibilities to ensure the growth of scientific research and development.