Government should place, few, if any restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research can range from development of electricity to missile. Research can help society but it can also to harm surrounding in many ways, so there should be some limitation that should be enforced to development of research undertaken.

One reason for limiting the scientific research is that if one is set free to develop any kind of chemical in laboratory, he has all the liberty and no restriction to prepare any dangerous chemical. That chemical can be acid which someone can use to take revenge of any form and can be used for any personal use to harm any one, this will be serious threat to common people. This would not have been case if an individual is circumscribed to use or prepare chemical substance.

In addition, on setting limitation to scientific research we can save our environment to great extent. Because any manufacturer working in their process of making any substance in his factory is free to use any harmful substance irrespective of proper care or awareness just if it is economical for him to use, he can come up with any research or method on his way. This is dangerous for common people. For an instance, a pharmaceutical company who is responsible for making drugs can come with any method that is generating huge amount of toxic material, which eventually gets dumped to either river or is evaporated and turn into harmful gases. Moreover, same drug company can also come with any life killing drugs if not limited with restrictions. Drugs is capable of saving one’s life but also is equally capable to destroy one. One can come with any strong drug to prevent or fight against certain disease but it might also have certain side effects and can instead endanger the life. If government impose restrictions on usage of certain chemical it can be precluded.

To add more, one can develop hack to breach the security of any application, if one is set free to carry out any research or development. In fact, one can breach security of esteemed Government institution like Parliament, military or Air Force. One can alter the voting poll which can impact the whole nation with wrong Government getting elected. One can leak the military or Air Force to opponent which is again proven to be serious threat and can harm number of innocent people. The dangerous nuclear weapons can be developed if one is set free to do so. The nuclear weapon can kill many. So it is very essential to set boundaries in undertaking scientific research and development for nation’s safety

Of course not everyone agrees on the idea of putting restriction to scientific research because if one is set free to develop or carry out experiments on creating nuclear bombs it can help nation at time of terror to attack and defend from enemies. Like how Openheimmer came up with nuclear fusion reaction and in turns nuclear bombs that helped to fight during World War II. However all the freedom or liberties should be granted to some honored laboratory to conduct such critical experiments, under relevant guidance or else it can be very harmful and can cost human life.