Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In develop

Should there be restrictions to scientific researches? While scientific research is instrumental to the growth of any field and as well contribute to knowledge, there should be some laws that prohibit certain research focuses. In my view, government should place certain restrictions on scientific research to ensure ethical principles are observed.

An example of a field in which restrictions are beneficial is in the biological sciences. In this field, researches are mainly focused on living things and their survival. These include research on health, food, genetic make-up and tissue repair. In 1953, scientists in this field successfully cloned a sheep named Dora and sought to transfer the knowledge applied to cloning of human beings. But due to restrictions placed on such research by the government they had not been able to do that. Having the right to clone humans can cause the nations a lot which include uncontrolled population, and that is what the government is trying to prevent.

Like in the biological sciences, government restrictions on scientific research in the physical sciences are important. Physicists, for example, through their knowledge of combustive materials have made a number of explosives which today are used in the destruction of lives. In the recent fight between Ukraine and Russia, a lot of lives and properties were destroyed with the aid of these explosives because of the result of a scientific research which ought to be used to fight enemies but turned out to be a tool for claiming the lives of even "innocent" souls. If the government had placed restrictions on such research giving birth to the dangerous tools, the lives of concerned citizens would have been preserved.

However, some will argue that in some cases, government restrictions might not be beneficial. For example, if for the fear of losing two lives that should be used for the clinical trials of a cure to the retrovirus; Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the government disapproves the trial, countless number of people will continue to lose their lives and livelihood to the ever raging disease. Though approving such will as well be considered inhumane.

To sum, it is important that the government places restrictions on scientific research. This will help to secure the lives and properties of the citizens as some research tend to result to the claiming of innocent lives.