The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village r

The argument that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture and his observation-centered approach are invalid, is logically unconvincing as it made some baseless assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the culture of the Tertian people 20 years ago is still the same as today thus concluding that a difference in the result of the research made on their culture at different times should be the same if true. The Tertian people might have had a change in their culture after the observations reported by Dr. Field. To support the claim by Dr. Karp, a research made about the culture of the Tertian people investigating what the culture has been like over the past 25 years or more showing no change in the culture would have helped to accept this claim made by Dr. Karp.

Second, the argument never mentioned what the children are discussing about their biological parents. The children might have been discussing about the lack of parental guidance from their parents. However, in the claim provided the children's topic of discussion is not provided making it difficult to accept this claim.

Finally, the argument did not provide the sample size of those interviewed. The ratio of the number of children interviewed compared to the whole population of children might be small. Also, the children interviewed might have comprised mostly of those who are being raised by their parents and thus the reason why they speak more of their parents than other adults in the village.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that Dr. Field's conclusion and method is invalid does little to prove the conclusion since it does not provide enough information to support the assumptions as earlier raised. Ultimately, the argument is baseless if the author cannot report the research showing a constancy in the Tertian culture over the past 20 years, what is been discussed by the children of their biological parents and the number of children interviewed as compared with the whole population of Children in the Tertian island