Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and
development.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing
and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the
recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples
shape your position.
development is what that differnciates a human being from a wild animal. we use elements in our surrounding to make our life hassle free.as the human society progressed
so did our heirhorcy. in this modern time people elect leaders who main job is look after the citizen of there country and help them process.without significant development
humanity will be again pushed back to stone age.
government should not have impose any strigent laws in place that hamper the development of citizen . it should incentivize companpies that does research and
development in the feild of science. by doing so they can save cost on research and development . the money saved can be allocated to other departments. these programs
tends to create industrial complexies where there is public private paternship. these type of arrangments are very common in democratic government where government tells
about there requirement to private companies and the company tend to design the product accord to there needs. this leads to a large scale employment which directly
helps a country grow its economy. this sames time and moneywhich can be used in some productive way like making rules and regulations that improves the life of citizen.
the best example of public private paternship can be found in the united states of america especially in the defence sector. they relase there requirement about the
product that they need which is given to companies which comes up with ideas and solutions. most of the iconic fighter jets,arms and amuration,space missions were borned in this way.
the automobile industry of america is the next best example. the government incentivized car manufacturers by making laws less stringent . this lead to boom in this industry
which currently employees millons of people.
on the contraty, government should impose restriction on things that are threat to safety of citizen. the most common topic that comes to minds when talking about
government interference is pharmasutical industry. medicines are tool for a long and healthy life. there government agencies that regulate this industry. once a drug is
found or synthesised its effectiveness is test. to test its effectivness they are tested on lab rats. these results are send to the consurned authorites which decide
wheter the drug should be approved for human testing. after regarus testing on human bodies if there are any hazardous side effects the drug is not allowed to be
releasd to the public. thus we can be sure that the medication available at the pharmasutical store is safe for human consumption.
when there is research on any topic which tends to improve the everyday life government should not not interfear in these matters. rather should assited them
with all guidance and help requaired. this help the government free up resources which could be sured elsewhere. it can also lead to formation large companies like apple, google,
microsoft which employes a huge number of young talents. but when public safety is put into question without any doubt government should enforce stringent resctriction.
research topics like medicine, nuclear energy where national and public security is at risk should be done under government . the government agencies should sit down
with reasearches and list all the possible ways to test the product so as to see is it safe for public use.