Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In deve

The author placed an issue that government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. I believe the Government should place few restrictions on scientific research and development. Every research and developments done by our scientists has their pros and cons associated with it. Government should place some limitations and restrictions on the developments they should as to every research it’s the government fund associated with it and the fund which actually comes from the tax payers.

There are some research which is a boon to our society for example discovery of electricity, ways of transportation, internet and many more things. But what about our other inventions like nuclear bomb, atomic bomb, different types of biological weapons? Yes, we do have some nuclear bombs and atomic bombs with our countries itself but with the limitations. If government dos not have some laws and regulations associated with it there are some scientist who can use their knowledge to discover many more weapons likewise or maybe much more peril to society. Another example like the space missions which include satellite launch or sending people to outer space which is associated with billions of money i.e. the money of the taxpayers. That money should also be use judiciously if the scientists were allowed to use the funds as the way they like they will continue to do the research and send many more rockets to space till they get success. Even if the funds are not involved if government does not have any limitations than the scientists will send superfluous satellites to space which will be just floating around like a space debris in near future and will lead to space pollution.

As I have mentioned in the above paragraph that why to the experiments and discoveries by our scientists government should pose some restrictions against it. Like from one of my personal experience now in this world every field is doing some research and developments. Let’s take the example of in the field of medicine, food products, cosmetics and the mobile or web applications. Let’s talk about each topic one by one. In the field of medicines researchers and scientists are discovering many types of medicines with different compositions if there is no one to check their authenticity then it may lead to someone getting ill or die by those medicines. If the cosmetics doesn’t get approved by our government it may lead to skin cancer or skin reactions. Even if does not have control over these field scientists their over ambition may lead to experiment their cosmetics and medicines over harmless animals and also can lead to use their body parts(like whale’s fat and snake’s venom) in the medicines illegally. Which is not fair to these animals. If we see in this virtual world having access to internet many youth is being involved in developing many apps if the government does not have cyber security it can cause hack of personal and as well as valuable data of many companies. And in this era data is the money for the business.

In conclusion although I had said why government should pose some regulations. But in our primeval stage the discoveries like wheel, fire which has been done our scientist ancestors is without any restrictions from government. But in this era government should have some control and laws for the scientist’s research and development.