GRE essay: Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Important discoveries and creations are defined as discoveries and creations that have significant impacts on the society. Some people would argue many important discoveries are accidental, such as dynamite, while some would argue many important discoveries or creations are on purposes, such as iPhone and theory of relativity. I believe many important discoveries or creations are not by accidental, because the important discoveries and creations are intended to attack one or few problems.

One example that the important creations are not accidental is iPhone. iPhone is developed by Steve Jobs and staffs in Apple Inc., which is not developed by accident. iPhone has completely changed the mobile phone market, the applications of mobile phone, and our perspectives to mobile phone. The creation and development of iPhone has been focusing on the economic growth of Apple Inc., which is the problem that Steve Jobs wants to answer.

Other than iPhone, the theory of relativity is also a good example to show the important discoveries are not accidental. The theory of relativity is proposed by Albert Einstein when he is trying to answer questions in quantum mechanics. He has done many experiments in order to come up with the theory. Therefore, the theory is addressing questions in quantum mechanics, and Einstein has spent significant effort and time to complete the theory, so the formation of the theory of relativity is not accidental.

In conclusion, the important discoveries and creations are not accidental. From the instances of iPhone and the theory of relativity, they have shown the important discoveries and creations are intended for attacking some specific problems in the society or in some fields.