GRE sample issue pool essay topic 128 Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

Choosing fields of study is one of the vital decisions in a student’s life. Sometimes students ruminate for months on this decision. Educational institutions play a major role in this decision. According to the prompt, educational institutions should encourage their students to choose fields of study that prepare them for lucrative careers. I strongly disagree with this statement for two reasons.

To begin, choosing a lucrative career rather than interested one may affect the mental health of the student. For example, if a student is interested in ceramics but chose computer science because of abundant and profitable career options, he might not be interested in the subjects and do mediocre work on it. Since he is not enjoying what he is doing, he might be stressful and depressed. According to many researches, professional happiness affects a person’s overall health. In order to be happy and healthy, educational institutes should encourage their students to choose the fields of study that they are interested in rather the lucrative ones.

Further, the jobs that are hot today may die tomorrow. For example, nuclear engineering was in great demand during world war. Many of the most powerful countries invested in nuclear powerplants and weapons which in turn created a lot of high paying jobs for students. Students could get into high paying nuclear engineer jobs right after college. But today, people are aware of the problems created by the nuclear powerplants and opting more green solutions because of which the popularity of nuclear engineering gradually decreased. So, today’s lucrative career may be dead career in future. It would be better if students choose to learn the subjects that they are interested in and prioritize what they want over what’s trending in the present world.

Choosing a lucrative career over interested one is bad professionally, physically and mentally. Educational institutes should not encourage their students to take fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.