The greatness of an artist is defined by the understanding of the masses and their following.

Since the very beginning of the realm it is a very understood fact that whatever catches the eye the most, sells the most, and in this case it is Art. The ability of an artist to convince the crowd as to what exactly his/her artistic creation means , is a very comprehensive process. Measure of success of an artist is defined by the number of people following his or her work.

There is various forms of art and hence appealing to the masses have different approaches. Let's consider regional art, a type which is only popular in a particular region. This requires the artist to familiarize with what exactly his crowd expects of him/her.

Let's consider a music as a form of art. People who have massively enjoyed Beethoven's Symphony may not particularly be seen enjoying Rap as a form of music. Therefore if a Rapper as an artist targets the wrong crowd as his target, he might utterly fail. The testing phase of any artist is that growing phase in which he is building his fandom, growing his reach as an artist, understanding what people expect of him, and not getting lost in the herd of millions of similar artist. For an artist to be successful, he or she has to show massive dedication and should be talented in order to be supported by masses as well.

Art is a pristine form of expressing thoughts of a human being. There is various forms of art which may not particularly be of mass reach. An artist has to create art which is thoroughly loved by the huge masses. That's what increases his or her stardom in the first place. If an artist is not criticized for his or her work, he or she might never be able to reach the zenith. Behind every succesful artist, there are a lot of failures, which were correctly criticized by the masses which shows that the artist is on the correct path towards achieving greatness in his or her field.

The greatest artists are always a result of the mass following they have. if thought otherwise, the artists also reach the apex when they are encouraged his or her following as a form of helping and supporting aid. An artist may have the talent to produce brilliant forms and specimens of art, but it the general public, the people who are inexperienced, may not know art as such, but are the reason for an artist's success.

The greatest names in the field of any form of art had huge mass attraction and taking that into consideration and also keeping in mind that the artists have continuously created pieces of marvel, it is the mass following which makes an artist the greatest in his genre.