High schools should eliminate their art and music programs to make room for more extensive studies in mathematics and English. Test scores in mathematics and English are of paramount interest to colleges most student wish to attend, while art and music classes are mere electives of little use to students who do not intend to pursue career in such creative fields.

Write a response that expresses the degree to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason or reasons that underlie the claim.

While English and mathematics are often considered the most important subjects in college admission processes and careers, art and music are valuable subjects that should not be eliminated in high school curiculums. As a cornerstone of our society, art and music can teach us about what current and past societies value. Additionally, art and music can hone students abilities in the more "important" subjects by teaching skills such as analysis, discipline, and improvisation. These skills are taught in a different way than the core subjects and can expose students to a new way of learning and interpretation. It would be a disservice to high schoolers to eliminate these subjects from their education and would ultimately produce students less prepared for college and their careers.

For as long as humans have been recording history, art and music have played an integral role in societies' cultures. The study of the arts involves the study of past works of art and pieces of music which allows students to learn about history and what different societies valued. For example, the style of art during a time period often reflects the current conditions of a culture; e.g., the renaissance artists innovating art reflected the growth in the technologies of the time periods. Similarity, the art and music of today can reveal much about the current issues of our time. If we were to eliminate art and music, students would not get the opportunity to connect the arts to culture and gain a greater understanding of humanities' values.

Art and music also allow students to learn important skills that both mirror and enhance the skills students learn in core subjects. For example, interpreting a painting is a skill that mirrors interpreting a book in English class; it requires students to think outside the box and use context clues to come to conclusions. Because art is often more abstract than the written word, interpreting art and can be more challenging and ultimately more rewarding. In addition, practicing music requires a great deal of discipline, an important skill for college and the workplace. To learn an instrument, students must devote many hours to what can be a boring practice to perform well. The act of grinding away at something to improve oneself is an important skill that other subjects emphasize less. Students who struggle with English and math may find that they excel in art and music, and can therefore gain beneficial skills in a different way than in the core subjects.

Art and music are at the forefront of our society for a reason – they reflect our culture and allow us to think in new and different ways. It is important for students to recognize this and learn these subjects so they can succeed in college and beyond.