High schools should require all of their students to play a musical instrument.Compose a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above statement. Develop your position, and offer supporting details. Discuss specifi

Picture a day in the life of a typical high school student: wake up early, go to school, spend all day in class, get out of school, complete homework and study for exams, go to work at a part-time job. That schedule is jam-packed with little room for more. Requiring all high school students to play a musical instrument would take precious time away from their academics and extracurricular interests. While there is value in helping high school students become more well-rounded individuals, adopting this recommendation would force students to spend away from activities they may enjoy more the music. It may also detract from their academic life, limiting their potential in preparing for their next phase in life.

Extracurricular activities are abound in high school. Outside of their classes, students could play a sport, start an academic club, or work a job to help support their family. If a student has no interest in musical instruments, this recommendation would take time from those activities. In addition to class, an athlete has games, travel to games, practices, and team meetings. An economically-disadvantaged student may have to take care of a younger sibling and work many hours a week. Time is in short supply as a high school student, and other extracurricular activities may be more important to the high school studnet.

Despite the time taken away from other activities, adopting this recommendation does have potential benefits. Being required to learn a musical instrument could unlock a passion for music that may never occur without a music requirement. However, the time required to develop that passion and become proficient in a musical instrument is not insignificant. What if a student struggles? This recommendation risks hurting the self-confidence of a student, which could affect their performance in other academic areas more central to the goal of high school education.

In conclusion, this recommendation identifies a desired topic of required study for students that may have no interest in the topic. Such a requirement would likely cause students to take time from their true interests and if they fail to master their newly-required musical learning, the requirement would negatively affect their academic studies, and therefore, their collegiate potential.