If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whenever a company or organization faces a dilemma when they have to choose between two candidates, they are more likely to choose the one with more experience than the other. Experience is considered one of the most prominent factors in a candidate which gives a candidate an upper edge. Here, I strongly agree with the statement that between two equally qualified candidates, unarguably the one with more experience should be offered a job.

Let us commence with a scenario where you are an owner or an HR of a company and you have to choose between two candidates who are equally qualified. Now, What will be your deciding parameter? Most probably it will be to judge them on the basis of the experience they have. Because even long-term studies have proven that experience can bring more value to the place and benefit the organization. A person with more experience is most probably the one who has faced all those difficulties which a person with less experience may perhaps face in the future. Thus, it will always be beneficial to hire an applicant with more experience.

Moreover, the candidate with more experience has probably faced more failure. And no doubt, failure can teach a person more lessons than anything else in life. Even if we cite an example of any organization may it be a local or a multinational one, we have often noticed that the people with the most experience are always in a higher position. This is because every company and organization understand the importance of experience and failures and how this shapes a person to be technically as well as mentally strong. And, not only the experienced person will benefit the company directly through their decision-making skills and experience but they can also guide their juniors and help them grow in their career by sharing their experience with them and even they can prevent them from committing all those mistakes which they have committed in their early days.

On the contrary, some people would question that is it always necessary that a more experienced candidate will always bring more benefit to the organization than one with less experience. Yes, there may be some exceptions where a person with less experience has proven to be a better asset to a company than one with more experience. but at the end of the day, they are all just mere exceptions, and the probability that the one with more experience will bring more value to the organization will always be higher. The other common argument that an individual can raise is that a person with more experience will demand more salary than the other candidate. Yes, again it can be true in some situations. But, It is indeed a good idea to pay some extra amount while trading the experience because the one with more experience can bring more profit to a company.

In a nutshell, There are enormous benefits that an experienced person can bring to the organization than the one with less experience. And it is always a good idea to hire a candidate with equal qualifications but more experience.