To improve leadership in the next generation, the society must instill a sense of cooperation rather than competition.

Good leaders are created by challenging conditions and insurmountable tasks. The prompt states that the best possible method to prepare the young people of the society for leadership in various fields is through cooperation and not through competition. I moderately disagree with the given statement and would like to express my opinion in a three-part thesis.

First of all, people need to understand that competition is not a negative entity. Each and every person requires some sort of competition, both, in order to grow as well as to learn something new. For example, let us assume a company which has two production managers who work together to handle the operations of the firm. Both of them are from extremely competitive backgrounds and thus are always competing with each other for excellence. They always tend to come up with something innovative in order to go one up on the other individual. In such a case, the ultimate winner is the company as they get two hardworking innovative individuals who thrive in a competitive environment. In such a case, competition rather than cooperation is the driving factor behind the good leadership illustrated in the operations of the company.

Moreover, competition is the cornerstone of excellence. For example, in the 20th century the whole world was at war, on the battlefields most of the time. But the leading scientists of the technological world always competed to make their country better than the other countries. Such a competition gave birth to a lot of advancements and inventions. It also gave us many great leaders of the science field of the world. Thus, the role of competition cannot be shunned in creating leaders, rather, competition was the primary reason behind excellence.

On the other hand, the role of cooperation cannot be neglected as well. Competition without cooperation will only give rise to animosity and ill-will among the employees and would create a huge impediment in their way of achieving personal growth as well as that of the company. For example, the two managers used in the first example only focus on being better than the other. In such case they will learn nothing more and would never yearn for personal development. If cooperative, both of them can work together on some challenging issues in order to solve it quickly and more efficiently.

Thus it can be elucidated from the given three points that cooperation and competition go hand in hand in the development of a good leader. The nature of the given prompt is not binary and thus in conclusion, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields is by instilling in them a sense of competition, while not completing ignoring the cooperative aspect.