Issue: It is important for the political leaders to withhold information from the public

Cause: In diplomatic circumstances, political leaders who are responsible for protecting us need to withhold the truth

I agree with the fact that political leaders should withhold sensitive information from the public for the wellbeing of the future of the nation and its people.

Some issues of the past cannot be fully resolved. Only time will heal the wounds of the past. Many countries face the problem of being in war over the borders with other countries. In such cases significant compromises has to be made by the goverment which might not be welcomed by the public. In such case it better to hide the sensitive details from public as it could potentially start a war.

What if a person who has done many generous contributions to the nation and its people but had a minor criminal history. This might cause wide range panic to the citizens of the country. Such sensitive information is best kept hidden considering the impact it will have on the lifes of all the citizens of the country.

If hiding a truth will lead to a better future it should always be chosen. For instance, during nuclear plant deals, albeit false, there is widespread belief among general public that it will adversely affect the living conditions of the people. But if the project is not approved there might be a serious power shortage. In such cases government tends to give grants to the MNCs from foriegn companies. Such information if revealed to public will create widespread panic. Sometimes deaths caused by panic from the truth might be higher than the hiding the truth. It is impossible to have complete order in a country. There might be some fringe elements who belive i an ideology which the nation as a whole doesnt represent.

Based on the above points we can strongly agree that it is important for the public leaders to withhold information from general public for the greater good.