It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

The point is that the term “social group” has lots of definitions. So the statement can be considered as true if we understand a social group as people who interact with each other, share personal and lasting relationships and have much in common. Well, in this case, as we know, a man is known by the company he keeps. Our relatives and friends have influence on us, we have same interests and tastes, and we can define ourselves through our identification with them.

Our parents form our attitude towards the entire world since childhood. They have great influence on us. It is normal that we repeat their behaviour and share their values. One can be brought up by parents who are successful at work, who respect labour, who have a strong set of values. Probably the child will be good at studying, will also be hardworking and polite. Another example is disadvantaged family, where a child suffers from bad habits of his parents, poverty and lack of attention. It is very common to explain juvenile delinquency by looking at a bad atmosphere in the family for this reason.

Then, friends. People who have a lot in common with us, ofcourse. How do we become friends? We see qualities which we like, we have the same opinions, we respect each other. It goes without saying that our friends' behaviour and thoughts can say much about ourselves. My hobby is music, I'm fond of going to the concerts, I always try to be hip to the latest styles in popular music. No wonder I love musicians and people who share my interest. Some of my friends play guitar, others sing, and all of them are totally devoted to music.

So, I've drown these examples to show that the statement can be considered true if we talk about small social groups. Nevertheless, some scientists describe the whole mankind as a big social group, and in this case we can't speculate about our identification.

But there is one more definition between. I mean social group as a large group with formal and institutional relationships. A good example of such a group is a professional group. We can talk about features which are common for teachers, politics, policemen, scientists, etc. It is true, I have lots in common with my collegues, as anybody has with his or her. But, to my mind, it is not enough for making a conclusion about person's character.

To sum up, I can say that I agree with this statement on the assumption of the narrow definition of the term “social group”. I can define myself through my identification with my parents and friends. But questions are raised when we mean something that is bigger than just family circle. In these case I cant agree with the statement.