It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

To begin with, special attention must be made in the use of the expression “define ourselves”. What shade of the word “define” are we considering? It is possible to interpret it in two main ways: in an assertive, stating manner, consisting in the recognition of a passive recognition of the aspects of our characters; and in a more actively shaping instance which considers the definition of ourselves as a concrete modification of our behaviour features. It is clearly impossible to ignore any of these two values of the world, hence the necessity of studying the two different ways in which the proposed statement holds true.

Aligned to the first of the two values, the passive-assertive way, is a saying that sees his roots in the ancient Greek philosophy: “The human being is a <zoon politikon>” (Socrates), namely, a ‘political animal’. In other words, men are supposed to seek personal identification, role and life scopes fundamentally in their social life (political means, in this sense, “related to the city”, to the <polis>). Much more concretely, this is a circumstance that we perfectly find in our professional achievements: as maintained by a considerable number of social studies, the preponderant reason for people to look for a satisfying job is not the salary desire, but the sense of being part of a productive and stimulant social group. In this sense, it is correct to point out that a crucial part of our self-identification goes through our professional interaction with a job place.

Switching to the second possible interpretation of the word “define”, an actual Italian popular platitude deserves a moment of consideration. They say: “Tell me who you go with and I will say who you are”. Teenagers’ life experiences turn out to be the best compelling evidence of this mechanism: they’re social groups, their companies, all have pivotal interactions with their personal characteristics. In particular, young people can dramatically change their attitude in function of the people they attend, thus making it unavoidable to accept that there is a real, extant trend to define ourselves by the means of the identification with a group of people.

On the other hand, while in these two ways the statement is effectively correct, there are aspects of our self that are usually not defined by any social measure. Art, for example, is obviously something that follows the idea of comparison with other fellows or audience, but, in many cases, the more unique and non-compared the piece of art is, the more genuine and original it is considered. That is the case of some well-known artists like Philip Glass, a contemporary pianist composer who greatly defined himself only through his personal studies and musical ideas; or Galileo Galilei, the genius who, basically, ignored any social, moral and religious imposition made by the Church and winded up being one of the most influent scientists in our history.

This all being said, it is consistent to determine this statement as something that holds deep true in the majority of the point of view from which it can be read, but it cannot be over-generalized. In fact, in some aspects of self-definition, like artistic skills, social constrains and interaction don’t show any concrete role.