It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

Since prehistorical time, sapiens, human beings’ ancestors, assembled into a community to ward off being threatened to death by large mammals. At the same time, they formed regulations and conventions for better and harmonious living patterns and also built a variety of communities which later constitute a massive society. Till now, people, as social animals, define their owns in social groups of families, careers, and communities to some extent; however, maverick people define themselves mainly by their own rather than conformity with others.

Socialization and urbanization stimulate people to work and live densely, therefore, most people define themselves by what communities they belong to. When a baby is born, he or she will belong to the daughter or son of parents. In the following years, they are being raised and taken care of by parents and parents give their children all love they have. Children are imbibed with parents’ characters and behaviors. For instance, if parents grapple with the economic hardship, children might become tenacious and strong-minded like parents do; if parents lose their temper, children would become pessimistic and sensitive.

In kindergarten and schooling time, individuals forge themselves by association with others because communal environment influences their judgement and preference concerning what to do and how to do. Take a look at kindergarten individuals, kids gradually know that sharing toys with each other is necessity and listening to teachers is a discipline. On the contrary, grabbing peers’ toys or picking out vegetables from plates is undisciplined and naughty. In addition, a certain middle-school student is elected to be a class monitor or is sifted in gifted basketball player team as linebackers or forwards when they are jointed in different groups and then register shine over others. Therefore, it is by involvement and association with others in schools that individuals define themselves.

Furthermore, gradually stepping into the society as employees, they change roles but still define themselves in association with others. In hospital, a doctor must shoulder the responsibility of taking operations for saving lives of patients. Nurses must pour considerateness and patience to patients in wards for better recovery. In politics, politicians must spare no effort in tackling with unemployment and terrorism, which then will increase their approval rating. In commercial worlds, phone producers must upgrade technology and design aesthetics to draw more customers’ eyeballs and buy them. That is to say, in every industry, everyone plays different but indispensable role in every group. Never would they be clearly positioned if they do not live in social groups.

However, when experiencing sweetness and bitterness during growing up, people become mature mentally and find themselves with their own understanding towards life rather than identification of social groups. Current social codes signal to people that money can buy everything. Although some people make money at the cost of health and alienation from families and friends, some people still choose to quiet and detached lives. The writer of Killing a Mocking Bird Harper Lee won the Pulitzer Prize in the 1960s and her influential novel brought her fame, recognition, and also money. However, she still put them down and granted no requests with interviews and public appearance because she would not go through the pressure and publicity she went through in To Kill a Mockingbird for any amount of money. Only when going through hardship and achieving dreams had people better pursue serenity and detachment. Most of individuals’ perceptions and pursuits does not influence theirs any more. Detachment is regarded as the worthiest fortune for these people.

To conclude it, individuals’ families, careers, hobbies identify themselves in the whole lifetime. However, maverick people always identify themselves based on their own experiences and viewpoints towards life.