It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Personal definition has changed greatly over time in that we define ourselves in different environments and time with various kinds of people we meet. In social groups, communicating contributes to our characters and the ways to generate success. Besides groups, the change of our own definition derives from our knowledge and the variety of our living environments. Thus, I cannot fully agree with the claim and I believe our identification through social groups and other factors such as environment and time altogether results in our identification.

Social groups give rise to more opportunities for us to find differences between oneself and others. In this way, it is easy to gain the better means of being mature. For example, in the certain desig group in a company, how to paint and what elements should be contained hinge on one’s taste and the requirement of the company. When the designer is willing to create a unique painting which can represent his or her special talents, it is wise to ask for permission for others since in the group one is supposed to obey the rules of the group instead of being self-serving. Teamwork leads to solidarity and high efficiency of working, and therefore during the teamwork one can quickly gain the necessary knowledge and try to be altruism.

Besides, other than social groups, different environment also enhances our identification of ourselves. From primary school to university, most people will choose to study in an unfamiliar place in order to interact with different cultures and lifestyles. Living and studying in university which is distant from home, a quick adaption to the new environment is extraordinarily necessary in that only when one can accustom himself to the new ways of living can he fully be effective in the curriculum. When the college student encounters the differences, what matters most is the ability of reshaping his ideas. Defining oneself include making changes of ideas, obtaining new measurements of achieving a goal, and striving to get in the new culture in a totally different place.

In addition, as we grow up, the transformation of our ideas also take place as time goes by. In primary school, our goal might be earning more stickers and praise from teachers and parents, while in high school, getting high marks in the college entrance examination has become our final goal. Being a mature person, making money to support the family is the fundamental goal. The reason why our direction has be changed result from our growth. Maybe some people may hold that it is the forces from the outside that leads to this transformation. However, I maintain that without changing the mind from the bottom of one’s heart, no one would fully change his or her behavior. Compared with the inner motivation, forces only paly a less significant role when it comes to the final definition.

To conclude, social groups help us build new links with others, which enables us to get a better understanding of ourselves. Environment plays a vital role in reshaping our ideas about cultures and different ways of living. Growth from the ingenious child to a mature person also results in constantly changing definitions about our own. Hence, all these factors mentioned above can contribute to our definition and it is hasty and unconvincing to ignore one of those factors.