It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

It is without doubt true that our social roles shape us. However, to which extent does a social identity defines a person is under controversial discussion ever since civilization comes into being.

The social groups that we belong to entitle us so that we have our roles to confront the world, and the outside understand us with these entitlements. We bolster ourselves, gaining our position in the kaleidoscope of the human society by various groups and carriers that show up on our name cards, written in our resumes, or mentioned in our self-introductions. Nobody comes from nowhere is hard to be trusted. We introduce ourselves as someone who works at someplace to a new acquaintance, because sImply a name and appearance is not enough to make a new friend. We need more to be self-defined and understood. To this extent, social groups defines us, as a stranger facing an new entity, whether it’s a person or another social group.

Nonetheless, when it comes to a whole person, with depth and multiple perspectives, social groups would not be enough. We could certainly categorise a dozen of teenagers in uniform passing by as high school students, but we never know each of them as an individual. Is anyone of them a geek addicted to electric? Is there a girl among them who recently gets fascinated with a love novel? Yes, we know what social groups they belong to —a high school of a certain name, but that’s it. Groups only provides us with a part of identification, and merely the superficial part that decorates our life, like an outfit, whether glorious or quotidian, that covers and conceals protean souls and only grudgingly gives out a modicum of information.

There are things, that shapes people’s personalities and traits, and gives inner identity to them, which is more important when defining a person. Life experience would be a significant one. It is proved by psychology that experience of people, especially that of their childhood and adolescence, shapes their personality and values. A person grew up in a family full of love and care is likely to be a fine-tempered, caring one, while one raised in an environment of violence would tend to be fractious and bellicose. Other experience, such as travelling is also possible to influence a conservative and narrow mind. When it comes to this point of self-define, our groups or carriers seems much less important.

Keep searching for things that define people, we will see education, their family, friends, and even their enemies… We couldn’t say that these are elements to be listed low, as we cannot say social groups identification is the primary one. Admitting the important role it plays in shaping us, doesn’t necessarily equal to that it’s of most significance. Self-identification is a complex thing that we expend our whole lifetime trying to figure out, and the last thing to do is to exclaim something as a dominant part of it.