Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Why do people spend so much time into studying and dissecting different aspects of history? If it is in the past, why should it matter? The thing with history is that has the tendency to repeat itself, and not always in good ways. Those who study our past do so to share with the rest of the population and bring light to issues that may be important to our future. When others have some knowledge about the past, it can ultimately help them to make important decisions that will eventually affect their future.

The most significant reason why knowing about the past will assist others in making choices in the present, is that we have learned from the mistakes from those who came before us. We know what not to do and things that should be done to prevent bad things from happening. For example, 9/11 was an event that changed the world. Before, it was obscene to think that terrorist would hijack a plane, killing so many people. This led to an increase in not just airport security, but security everywhere else. The US now knows what others are capable of and this helped the nation to make important decision ensuring the safety of the population. These choices have been greatly beneficial and much needed in our present times.

Another reason why knowing about the past can help individuals makes important decisions today, is that we are able to predict the types of consequences that come with particular actions. When the United States bombed Hiroshima, many of the officials did not predict that its affects would be felt until this day. Many Japanese people still suffer from health conditions due to the radiation and have been passed on to future generations. This was a huge detrimental and everlasting consequence of those many, many years ago. Today, people are able to take this knowledge into consideration before making any decisions that might have terrible repercussions.

The final way that learning about the past can help people today, is that there are many instances where similar situations arise. This is tied in with learning from mistakes and consequences. When a situation presents itself, we can draw from examples that may have happened in the past. We know how to handle the issue and what choices the make that will be beneficial to everyone involved. For example, in the past, many people did not know what to do if there was a shooting. Though unfortunate, due to the increased amount of shootings, people are becoming more and more aware of these types of situations. There are now safety protocols and procedures to follow if this arises.

Although many may argue that learning from the past may seem useless. This is because the past is so different from the present. There could be no possible way that we are able to predict what might happen in the future, based on events that have happened before. Although this statement holds a certain truth to it, knowing about the past provides society as a whole with so much invaluable information. Mistakes are never a bad thing unless we don’t learn from them. And in that case, history may repeat itself, for the worst.