Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The history is always the best examples for us to see what conclusion can be resulted from our decisions, by analyzing the past, we have more understanding of the logic and method to help us do things better in the future, as many problems can be in the same situation as before. Therefore, the claim on totally denying the value of knowing about the past is not true from my point of view.

There can be some extents that the knowing of past will not help us to make decisions in the contemporary world, as the technological improvements will allow us to have different solutions to the same problem, and the decisions that people take while solving problems is different from the past. Take the detections as an example. In the past, the detectors and police had little sources to track the murderer as the means for searching only limited to fingerprints, hairs, testimonies from the nearby people or other viable sources. This few evidences can take months to years for the police to catch the criminal suspect, and the efficiency is limited due to the lack of technologies in tracking. However, when the technology improved, DNA ejected from blood and video recorded from nearby cameras can be the sources for tracking, and tiny evidence can be seen by the microscope. The past experience for tracking is not considered as efficient and useful for the nowadays detectors, and the past experiences are hard for people to apply to make decisions on how to gather the evidence now. Therefore, in this case, the past experience has little to do to help people make important decisions today.

However, most of the past experience does provide dramatic value when people are facing new problems to solve today. The World Was One and Two leave people in the world with traumatic scars, which are hard to be recovered even it has been almost 80 years since the events. Today, when big countries are having conflicts in their interest, the past will remind them how much harm will it do to the world if they cannot prevent themselves from starting the war. Therefore, all people believe that peace is the main destination that the world should be working on together, as the past tells them the economics, politics, and citizens will suffer huge pains if the wars happen again. The past experience teaches people what we should do and how should we perform when conflicts present. In addition, the world is sometimes circulating the things happened in the past, such as the vicissitude of the generations of empires, and the birth to death of the human.

The world is like a huge machine which has its laws. Therefore the past is a good resource for us to understand what will happen in the future, and what ramification will be drawn. Understanding the past and combining the new thoughts and novel technology today will bring us best ways to make important decisions.