Knowing the past cannot help in making decisions today.

past is often what defines people. we are who we are today due to our past. Undeniably, it molds and shapes us into the individual that we become, but does that mean it helps us in making important decisions today?

Let us consider the possibility. such as, if today i wanted to drive to the mall for some shopping and there were two routes to reach my destination. the last visit in the past took me 30 minutes to drive through route 1 due to traffic where as I could have reached in just 20, considering the traffic on that route is a regular business and not due to some other event or reason, I know that I will waste 10 mins more on that route and can instead take the other one to get there. similarly, if in the past i have purchased clothes from a particular brand that decolored after a single wash, I will prefer not to buy again from the same brand. In these cases, the past definitely teaches us and helps us in making important decisions however it is advisable to acknowledge that we learn from the experiences, had i not experienced the traffic on the route or the bad quality of the cloth, i would not have known.

getting to experiences, in our day-to-day life we come across various decisions, some we have had experience or knowledge about and some that are new for our minds and thoughts to venture into. today, perhaps a new business opportunity could knock on my door, one that i have no idea or experience in but something i can definitely learn. While pondering over it, i might have no past relating to it to help me make the wise decision, nothing that would tell me if it is advisable or profitable to take the deal or whether i am better off saving myself the investment that would never fish any returns. This could definitely be the turning point of my career hence a highly crucial decision to make. Now that i have no past, does it help in deciding? not really. what can in turn definitely help is talking to people in the same field, those that have a past or present relating to it.

as inferred from the examples above, decisions, however important, may or may not relate to our past but somehow history and experiences are an added benefit to support these decisions even if it may not be patent always. knowing about the past can definitely help us in making today better. our present today shall become our past tomorrow and similarly shall help us shape our future.