Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places.

The writer claims that a law should not be rigid, also adding that they should take into account various circumstances, times and locations. For a law to be put in place as a law, it is first of all examined and all sides of it is rigorously checked before it is then stamped as a law. How ever is important that laws be made flexible, but to an extent. while i agree with the writers view, its important to note that it some instances laws are better left rigid.

First and foremost, We live in a society where rules and regulations is the back bone of a peaceful society. People are aware of the penalties to be faced if they commit a particular infelicitous act. However the importance of flexibility of this so called rules should not be undermined. To illustrate further:imagine a ten year old boy who knows little about life decides to end the life of his younger brother because his brother ate something that was kept for him. The law should be flexible in situations like this, this boy should not be sentenced to death however get mentally checked and made sure he spends the rest of his life in an area where he is made to realize such act is wrong. In cases like this juveniles should not get punished for certain crimes due to there in awareness to how wrong the crime they have committed are and this could be advocated to their tender age. In sum, when laws are flexible, is only when true justice prevails.

Additionally, not all laws are supposed to be flexible. some laws are better left strict and robust. For example: laws that people who engage in illicit acts in government offices should step down from that post once charged, are examples of laws that should be left as robust as possible due to the extent it effects the society. When a crime is committed by certain members of the society and it has raft effect on the members of that society, when the society does not get what it wants from the charges, it could lead to chaos in the society. In sum, not all laws should be flexible. and the flexibility of a law should be depended on either the stability or peace that would be reign if a particular law is implemented.

Last but not the least, in the modern world the amount of crimes due to influence of certain drugs and alcohol have risen over the years. In a research conducted in Kaduna in Nigeria, where data was taken on the causes of certain crimes the state. whereby each person charged of a crime while asked why he committed it, sixty percent attributed it to influence of certain drugs and alcohol. Hence, some people make mistakes and commit certain crimes, the law should not punish this people with the same punishment meant for people who intentionally commit this crimes.In the same context,for example: the government of a certain area does not allow emigration from its society and lets say its neighbouring society is struck by civil war and people from their want to migrate to this society maybe on a temporal basics till things settle in their town. In this case they must consider tweaking their laws if the are to help those war refuges.

In conclusion, laws are supposed to be made flexible enough so as to provide proper judgement on individuals that commit crimes and also create a platform where there is a harmonious hodgepodge between all societies. However this should be done with limitations that people don't take laws for granted due to their flexibility.