The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

It is undeniable that technology is burgeoning as we speak. With the development of technology, we have reduced a multitude of problems which we faced in the past. This induced an ambiguity between luxury and lethargy. I believe that with further investigation into the argument we can resolve the discrepancy that why luxury would hinder personal development.

It is true that when the human mind is soporific, it blinds the individual of his capabilities and confines any development. For instance, the mankind was introduced to fire in the archaic period. The fire was used to cook, light the houses and keep the wild beasts away. Then we saw the discovery of electricity, which revolutionized the world. This discovery made the job easier but still, people had to work to eat and survive. The problems never went away, they were simply presented in a different form.

In retrospect, we used to rely on pigeons and messengers to deliver messages and communicate between longer distances. It would take days, weeks or even months for some messages to be delivered. With the invention of the Internet, people who are continents apart could communicate at light speed. It is foolish to think that personal development can be achieved only through hardships. An individual develops when he acknowledges his roles and responsibilities as a citizen.

A formidable example which could be an anchor to my argument is the way the modes of transportation has evolved and the effect it had on the human culture. What could take weeks to travel between cities can now be done in a few hours. We do not see families scaling huge mountains to travel between pilgrimages. Yet we still see the responsibilities of every family member hold the same ever since the evolution of mankind.

A pattern if we notice, is that as technology evolved so did the problems. As the problems evolved, so did humans. Sure humans are contingent on technology. This dependency would hold only because the technology was developed to make life easier, take that away, the primary rule would still prevail: Survival of the fittest. This concludes that luxuries of today does not hinder the personal development of an individual.