The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

This topic raises a controversial issue of whether or not the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life make people more dependent. Indisputably, it may be true that luxuries and conveniences could make people lazy, nevertheless, it makes one more efficient. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that it makes people dependable, and would argue that, the terms “luxury” and “conveniences” are quite subjective, its meaning may varies drastically with time. The meaning may also vary when one moves up the ladder of social hierarchy from poor and under privileged to the rich and high caste.

First of all, the meaning of “conveniences” and “luxuries” could change with time, what is a necessity to today, was a only a luxury until a while ago, to illustrate, let us look at an example of our own grandparents, in order to communicate something who is living in a different place, they used to send a person all the way to that place to pass the message, and the came letters followed by phones and emails, today we have become so dependent on phones that will let us talk to people who are almost thousand miles away. One cannot imagine life without such a necessity, but it is important to note that it was only a “luxury” decades ago.

Secondly, conveniences definitely make a man more efficient. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that it helps one make a better use of time, and save his time for something more important and that involves a lot of thinking, for example, if one were to make a financial plan for the year, he could spend time on thinking how he could strategically reduce his expenses rather than spend time on doing tedious calculations of his spendings from last year, that could easily be performed by a calculator.

Admittedly, one may argue that it is making people highly dependent on other things to get work done. But the terms “Conveniences” and “Luxuries” may be subjective, what is a luxury for a “middle class family” may be a “necessity” for an affluent family, having a car can be a good example to this. Conveniences also differ from places to places, say a rain water harvesting system is necessary in hot places, but only a convenience to have in places with abundant water. What is important is the clear specification of the place when someone is making such a statement.

In conclusion, although conveniences and luxuries make a person lazy, I disagree and would argue that, it helps one become more efficient and manage his time better. It is also important to note that the terms “luxury” and “conveniences” are quite subjective, and one has to give more details when making such a statement.