Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age Is this a positive or negative development

Marriage and having kids is the norm in society. Over the years, many cultures around the globe have seen a shift from early parenting to having kids later in life. I consider that having kids in your thirties is better than having them at a younger age. So I believe that the current trend is a positive development. It has various advantages over early parenting.

Firstly, with the growing desire in the youth to discover themselves and follow their passion more time is required to settle upon a job. Consider a college graduate who is pursuing research in Astrophysics. The academic timeline for this student will look something like this - Bachelor's, Master's, Ph.D., and one or two post-doctoral degrees. Even for a non-academically inclined person, say an artist in the film industry, it takes at least five to six years after his graduation to have some sort of job security. By the time they start earning they are already in his late twenties or early thirties. It is only after one has a secure job and a source of income to provide for a family that one should consider having kids. Having kids early in life, when one is still discovering their passion or looking for a job proves to be a blockade to the person and leads to careless parents. Also, this is not good for the child as well. Such parents might be doing overtime to make the ends meet. In such a situation, the parent will be stressed as well as the kid will experience a poor childhood.

The early twenties is too early for most people to realize the responsibilities of a parent. Caring for babies requires loads of energy and time. It means staying alert 24x7, having sleepless nights, and having to decipher that cry for food, milk, diaper, illness, or simply attention. Rushing to pregnancy and extending the family can put undue pressure on the couple leading to a decline in their relationship.

However, having children in the late thirties deprives the child and the parent of some quality time together. This can happen because people who have kids in their late thirties have spent more than usual time working and are way too focused on their carrier to have free time for their kids. But this is not due to late parenting but a fault in the person not taking parenting seriously.

As the world is changing at an ever-growing rate, the change is affecting every aspect of our lives. One of them being having children in thirties. My outlook on the situation is that it's a change for the better and a positive development.