Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

As someone has said it right, the Internet has transformed this vast world into a "Global Village". However, this advantage of the Internet has come to us with a cost. As the author reports, "Mass media and the internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter.". However, the author soon takes a turn and claims that the overall effect has been positive by taking the example of the enhanced ability to sort through large chunks of information and identify what is essential.

However, it seems that the author is comparing a small chunk of positive with a large boulder of negative impacts that has deleterious effects for humanity's mental capability as a whole.

Technology, of any kind, is meant to ease our work, by merely carrying out the hard work that could be automated. An example would be of the calculator. However, this could lead to an adverse effect of human users becoming over-dependent on a calculator for doing simple number addition. The same device that was meant to improve our productivity has lead to a diminishing of the mental capacity of its users.

Internet, just like how our brain is connected with millions of neurons, is interlinked with people and their systems all around the world. This helps it in adapting it on its own, for a more accessible and efficient usage by the users. So if today, we may boast of how we can easily segregate and choose the right information from the ocean of knowledge (Internet), sooner, there would be an intelligent agent/website that could help us in doing the sorting work with much better efficiency. And not much later, we will realize that the same skill which we learnt from the Internet has now been diminished by an Intelligent service, germinating from our Internet.

A similar example would be the advent of Mobile phones in the late Nineteen Nineties. Cell phone users would memorize the phone numbers of all their family members and close friends. Soon, we had a time when everyone would boast of their mental memory prowess, by showing the number of phone numbers they could remember and recall. However, as soon as the advent of Silicon memory cards came, which could be used to store contact numbers, everyone utilized it. Moreover, it was not too late, when the same user who could remember a dozen phone numbers, realized now he remembers a maximum of two to three cell numbers.

Internet, just like any other technology, which on one side has made our physical world a better place, given us lightening speed of communications and various benefits, has also snatched away from our mental prowess and capabilities which prevailed in us since ancient times.

Hence, Internet has become that invention which we made to improve our efficiency and productivity but has also made us its slave by having deleterious effects on our brain and ripping us from our necessary mental capabilities which we had since ancient times.