Money spent on research is almost always a good investment, even when the

results of that research are controversial

I agree with the speaker's assertion that the money spent on research is money generally well invested. However, the speaker unnecessarily extends this assertion that the results of the research can be controversial to embrace the controversial part of the research. My points of contention with the speaker includes the fundamental objective and nature of research as discussed below:

I accept the fact that the speaker says that "money spent on research is always a good investment" as research is nothing but an exploration of the new things in ourselves or the world where we live in. There is always a curiosity to get to know the unknown facts and satisfy ourselves by researching them without presuming the controversies related to its research.

While we must invest in research irrespective of the controversies which we get while the research is done. After all, expensive research carries a significant cost- in terms of how the money could be spent on addressing society's problems which do not require research.

In conclusion, I would like to say that I agree with the fact when the speaker says that the money spent on research is money well-financed because it is an investment for the advancement of human knowledge and human imagination and spirit.