The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

By the word trends of youth mean the acceptance, fancy (grooming,clothing,hair style), individualism etc. Culture broadly might be lifestyle. youth are easily adaptable, flexible to upgradations unlike adults who don't give a damn unless it is a necessity. perusing through the topic while one it may appear tenable, i strongly feel that the statement is rife with intuitive and presumptuous generalisation.

Firstly the trend of youth is itself fluctuating. Take for example city like Delhi and relatively small city like guntur the trends or lifestyle of people are entirely different. indeed, take for example clothing, i wanted to bring in a point that the availability and the economic status and the acceptance by society around (especially india) where all these account an analysis for trends in present day. when u visit a mall in delhi or bangalore you see people not only youth but all age groups in western styles, while in guntur you see in salwars or sarees.

Secondly, smart phones for example are pretty much used by youth for learning things via internet, social networking, taking selfies, entertainment stuff like music and games. Nevertheless, their usage is as much attributed to adults in software fields, business, journalists etc for social networking again, checking mails, drafting and sharing files. Its the advantage that it has that makes it acceptable to have one but not age. Today, my grand father owns an i phone, its as simple as that.

Admittedly, taking hair styles, in this case youth are very much representative for saloons, but it again as in the first example the parental i.e elderly and societal acceptance and availability of hair professionals that cannot be denied. Additionally, as a matter of fact, People in software industry that operates with adverse cultural diversity calls for a different dressing or eating lifestyles compared to bank employees in small towns.

Though youth appear aquiring and representing new hence contemporary culture there are many other factors that are considerable. if we afford to analyze the contemporary culture it is not only youth but in an overall the entire society that has to be taken into account. Lastly to conclude i would strongly disagree with the speaker's statement.