A nation should require all its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine the academic courses to offer.

Education plays a vital role in nation's development. Providing basic education equally to every student of the nation is responsibility of the government. I agree with the point that common core curriculum would serve the useful purposes of the nation. However, the states should be given freedom to augment the curriculum by introducing the topics which they consider fit. I support my stand for the following reasons.

Common core curriculum would help the nation in various aspects. It would ensure that the students grow upto become rationale, logical and productive members of the society. Moreover, this will ensure a common platform upon which college administrators and professors can build the curriculum. They can select the course material`which is at par with the educational experience of every student, Also a common core curriculum would ensure that all the students are taught the moral and core values upon which nation thrive - values like respecting every culture, equality.

However a common core curriculum may pose certain issues. the decision for the content of the curriculum would rest with a single body of the government. the representatives of the government may omit certain topics which as per their notions is not fit to be taught. Besides this there re chances of including some anti-social and notorious content in the influence of anti-social elements. Hence the chances of tempering with the actual facts and figures would be most likely as there will be no one to object or question.

Another issue with the common core curriculum would be ignorance and disregard to the courses which are of regional significance. In the diverse country like India where each state is having its own culture and language, it is the need that regional languages should be the part of curriculum. Otherwise the regional languages, traditions, culture and values would loose their existence.

Collectively, it can be inferred that a fine balance should be managed in deciding the curriculum. While the common core curriculum would ensure a secure future for the students and nation, it may ignore the traditions and culture which are the very identity of the nation. Hence, a common curriculum along with freedom to states to augment the same would be an optimal solution.