A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

It goes without saying that education plays a highly crucial role in nurturing future workforce of a nation therefore, there has always been extra obsession regarding the educational system of a country. Highly specialized jobs in modern world kindles the hot debate whether students should have to go through an irrevocable uniform national curriculum or a curriculum that differs from school to school depending on what the interest of the students might be. I for one, think a nation should provide the same national curriculum for all the students prior to college, with each school having the freedom to modify or add new subjects to the conventional curriculum to privilege their students. Likewise students should be offered the same freedom to attend these extracurricular classes as they wish, based on their area of interest.

First of all, a homogeneous national curriculum ensures sufficient acquaintance of all students with a wide array of subjects that enables all students to have an equal opportunity to explore their different areas of interest and make a prudent decision for the career they want to pursue in future. If a student does not have the chance to get engaged with a particular subject how can he know whether he is interested in it or not? Furthermore, the same national curriculum ascends the knowledge of students about variety of subjects that they may never have the opportunity or the time to study in college and university.

Furthermore providing a stable national curriculum prior to college can pave the path for a fair competition between students who want to further their education. Many colleges or universities require applicants to take an entrance exam; if the national curriculum differs from school to school some students may benefit from resources that students of another school are deprived of, and so they are put in a clear disadvantage. General point average (GPA) would not be a feasible indicator of a student performance either; since some schools may base their GPA on much easier subjects than other schools.

Finally, having a stable curriculum, maintains the same basis of information about a subject upon which further advanced courses in college and university can be built. If different schools have different curriculum offered to their students, some students may have intermediate knowledge of a given subject while some others may only have a minuscule elementary knowledge and this heterogeneity causes problem for both the college professors and the students themselves.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of sticking to a stable curriculum is that many students may not be interested in a particular subject and they have to spend countless hours in classes which they may not be interested or even good at, while they could have nurtured their other skills and interests instead. The Other problem is that some subjects may not be included in the national curriculum. So the best solution would be to offer extracurricular classes covering some other areas of interest as well; so that if the students are truly interested in a subject they would have the opportunity to attend theses classes.

In conclusion, the advantages of having a stable national curriculum outweigh the disadvantages, and all the students should be provided with the same curriculum to maintain a general base of knowledge while being served with different extracurricular classes which can differ from school to school.