A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

NOTE: my first attempt on awa.

Students all over the nation should read and learn the same textbooks and appear for the same standardized test. This is the notion of the essay. Although this may seem like a positive move, it cannot be viable in today's world.

While the motive of this reform is to make the curriculum and knowledge level of students uniform, this will not work for all the nations in the world.

For a country like the United States or any developed nation in general, a uniform curriculum is possible because of the quality of schools all the over the country would be almost the same. The level of knowledge of professors and teachers are equal all over and this helps to enforce a standard curriculum throughout the nation.

Whereas, In a country with multiple cultural ethnicities, for example, India. The resource and quality of education provided vary according to the location. Having a standardized curriculum means, having standardized tests. A student from a well-developed city has more resources and therefore performs better than a student from a remote location with very little resources. This provides an unsatiable advantage for one over the other, this is why a national curriculum doesn't work.

More so, a standardized test requires a lingua franca. In many countries, the language in which education is provided varies. Some countries have up to 10 different educational languages. Not all the concepts can be literally translated into the English language and this disadvantage will not aid in having a national curriculum.

Another important reason is that the interest of every student varies. One might want to become a carpenter, which doesn't really require them to go to a college. Just a trade school is sufficient and this doesn't require them to have the knowledge of many advanced classes. Comparatively, we cannot provide the same curriculum for a student who aspires to become an English literature professor and a student who wants to study quantum physics.

Curriculum needs molding according to every field a student wants to pursue and it cannot be an unswayable linear progress of subject after subject which might not be of interest to a student. This also affects students graduating GPA which in the end decides their entrance into the college and field they like to work on.

Thus, although this motive to change the nation's curriculum into a standardized one has a constructive notion, the negatives outweigh the positives and the results are not fair towards the students.