A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

A nation has individuals arising from various backgrounds. No two children are brought up in the same way by their parents. Each school student has his or her own potential and exposing all students to the same exact environment would not enable the students to completely unlock their true hidden potential.

This is why I take a stance against the statement, saying that a nation should not have a single national curriculum for all students until they enter college.

Assume that a national curriculum has been established and all students study the same syllabus. As an example, Student A may find the syllabus very easy and it may not pose a challenge to him. Student B on the other hand may find it very difficult to cope up with the curriculum and may require monumental effort to score a passing grade. The national curriculum thus falters here. Student A will not put in much effort and therefore his true potential may not be exposed. He may remain average for the rest of this school life. He would not know what a challenge is because of the ease of the curriculum. Taking the next step towards college would be a difficult task for student A because of unexpected challenges. Student A would not know how to respond to failure and may get highly demotivated during his college life.

Student B on the other hand has been meeting with only failures during his school life. At some point student B might get completey discouraged and neglect his studies. This is because of the fact that he has been experiencing only failures throughout his school life and he would be devastated to even think about stepping into college.

The key point to take away from this example is that students should be exposed to an environment where they meet success and failure. It is like boiling an egg; the egg should be heated gradually so that it gets cooked uniformly to perfection. Putting an egg into a pot of boiling water will make it crack and thus ruins the whole egg and the pot.

The students need to be exposed to varying difficulties of various curriculums, starting from the easiest and gradually progressing in difficulty. Student A might find the lower levels very easy and thus he may progess to higher levels very quickly and once he finds something challenging, he will begin to meet failure and know how to tackle failure, thus preparing him for the long and tough journey through a college. Student B on the other hand might find the lower levels difficult. He will also meet failure but, he will not get discouraged. He will also progress, but at a slower pace and meet Student A at the finish line.

This is why different curriculums should be implemented in a nation. Various students can enroll themselves in the curriculum of their choice and progress from there. This will create a nation of highly motivated individuals in the future. Individuals who know how to cope up with failure and how to succeed in life.

Students can choose their curriculum by taking mock tests conducted by dedicated organisations so that they can study the perfect curriculum at the first try and not choose a curriculum by trial and error. Of course, parents know their childern better than anyone. They can make informed decisions on behalf of their children.

In conclusion, my stance on the statement is that a nation should not implement a common national curriculum for students until they enter college. Various curriculums in a nation will benefit the students and provide a stepping stone for a bright future.