“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum

until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The thought of each child being on the same footing in terms of knowledge is a very attractive one. Each student should have an equal opportunity to excel in whichever field they decide on after school, which is why a nation should require all its students to study the same curriculum. Not only will all students graduate equal, they will all have a basic understanding in a variety of subjects useful in life, which is what school is meant to provide.

Subjects offered in schools are present in the curriculum only because they are thought to be of some value to the students, either immediately or some time in the future. Math inculcates logical thinking, Economics teaches the very important relationships between buyers and suppliers, Psychology and Sociology give an insight into the world, Accountancy teaches how to manage our future incomes, English teaches us creativity and broadens horizons, Science teaches us how the world ticks. Each of these subjects, and many more, offer an indisputed value to a child, and it is illogical to not teach each student even one of these subjects. Alas, when the national curriculum is not the same, some students may be more prepared than others to function well in life - either because they went for the easy choices, or because somebody thought some subjects superior to others - leaving students bereft when they reach the real world. It is therefore necessary for all students to have profficiency in all subjects they may need further in life, and therefore they should be taught all of them.

Furthermore, as stated above, when curriculums and school systems force students to specialise in narrow fields, some students are more disadvantaged than others. A very good example is how a student having studied in Bihar Board - where the education is in Hindi medium - is ill equipped to pursue Engineering or Econominc fields in India - where the medium of education is English. A bad decision on the part of such state boards affect the lives of thousands of students each year. Such situations can be handled very easily if the curriculum and the medium of education were standardised across the country. Another instance where specialisation hurts students in the long run is the study of Biotechnology. When Biology students have the option to drop Mathematics, they do so eagerly. As a result, every year, institutes offering Biotechnology degrees on an undergraduate level need to educate more than half their students in high school Mathematics, while simultaneously testing them on advanced College level Mathematics. Many students fail both courses in their first year, which leaves a permanent black mark on their record.

Additionally, one more place where a standardised curriculum will help is nationwide standardised college entrance tests. If all students study the same subjects in school, nobody will have to undergo additional tutoring on the side to prepare for such tests. Also, since all students will be tested on the same topics during there high school proffiency tests, their final grades will not need to be normalised for national entrance tests.

On the other hand, one may argue that having the same curriculum hampers the education of those who are developmentally behind most students - those who may need a personalised teaching style. However, having the same curriculum does not neccesitate teaching it the same way, and teachers would be free to teach their students in whichever way they belive would be the most beneficial.

The main purpose of school is to provide a solid base on which a student stands when he or she enters the real world. This base needs to be equal for all, so as to make sure no one gets left behind. Be it the studying the same subjects, studying them in the same medium of education, or being graded on the same scale, a homogenisation of the national school curriculum is a right of all children in a country. Therefore, all should be able to study the same curriculum until they can make an informed decision of their own.