A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

“One nation one curriculum” is a great idea where we have a universal curriculum, that brings all the students on to the same scale. It also enables students to move from one part of the country to the other part without any hassle. However, one curriculum across the country strip the freedom of the student to pursue his interests. Also, there are significant differences in cultures across the country, and the curriculum should be made with according to the aspirations them. So, I firmly believe that one curriculum across the country is not a great idea.

The curriculum is the most critical part any students formal education. The curriculum should not be fixed for students because with fixed curriculum students might not get to study their area of interest. If students are not able to get to study curriculum relevant to their interests, often they end up underperforming, which in turn decreases their morale. Single fixed curriculum with irrelevant subjects will not help the student to realize their goals which often find redundant for students growth. For example when it would be very redundant for Ramanujan - greatest mathematics scholar - to study Tamil literature till his high school because this subject was never useful for his career. So, having one curriculum will deprive students of choosing subjects that match their aspirations.

Countries are generally a collection of multiple cultures across different demographics. When we have a unique curriculum across the country, curriculum might fail to be relevant to each part of the country. Because trends of education are different across the country, one who makes the curriculum should understand this before creating one. For example in India we have twenty-nine states with over eighteen official languages with more than eighty dialects. India is formed by combining the Indian British colony with many small kingdoms, where each country have their specific history which cannot be ignored in their curriculum. Also, language becomes one more major blocker for one curriculum idea, because each language has their literature which cannot be standardized.