A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The national educational curriculum decides the subjects which every student will study until they enter college. Having a common curriculum has many advantages and hence, every student of the country should have the same national curriculum.

The future of the nation's progress is decided by the present students. It is only fair to require that all of the students be given access to same information, regardless of their socio-economic background. Having a common national curriculum so that students from wide range of background and cultures learn a prescribed syllabus provides for a level-playing field in terms of the quality of education each student receives. A school is one place where money should never triumph knowledge and skills, and the same curriculum is a right step in that direction.

Secondly, having a prescibed curriculum allows students to experience all the subjects with depth as well as breadth, so that when the time comes for them to choose a field of study, they will make an informed decision since they already know what each of them are. For example, if you ask a fifth grader about what his/her ambitions are, most likely, he/she will say that they want to be an astronaut or a doctor. But, it does not necessarily mean that he/she will go on to become one. In fact, later on, they may find that the subject like physics which sounded scary before studying is what interests them and may choose to pursue a career in that. Having a standard curriculum makes it mandatory for students to know what each subject is about, rather than just avoiding the tough subjects altogether. In fact, if the above student were given a choice, he/she would have most likely ended up not choosing Physics as his future field of study. A common curriculum will alleviate such scenarios of students missing out on opportunity just because they were unfamiliar with it.

Thirdly, a very important and unique aspect of a student is that they are dependent on their parents and may have to move across the country if their parents' job requires them to. If the curriculum is upto the schools or States, then, even a brilliant student may end up struggling to cope up. Having uniformity in the curriculum allows the students' education to be independent of the school or place which they started from.

However, some students may have special needs that might need special attention. The curriculum must be flexible enough so that it addresses these needs.

Thus, a uniform curriculum is essential to having a good education system. This way it caters to students from all backgrounds along with providing them exposure into all subjects. After all, students are one of nation's precious resource and the country must place highest priorities on their welfare.