“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they

enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Although a nation and its people have many common shared values and goals,there are various groups in the citizenry of a nation that differ in ideologies and interests. Considering this, a nation may need all of its students to study the same curriculum to some extent, however, the curriculum should not overstep the lines of shared national interests and tread path in the unchartered territories of diverse and conflicting ideologies and interests. Besides, there should be scopes and opportunities to set up educational institutions and study subjects outside of the national curriculum so that people may keep their perceived identity without facing the troubled questions of national loyalty.

To elaborate on the statement presented in the introductory paragraph, let us first delineate and define the boundary of shared national interests and values. Throughout history there are some goals people have when they join a nation or become part of that nation. Primarily those goals, interests or values are safety of life and property, economic development and freedom to nurture one's self. In this context, nations set up state institutions and write laws and regulations that make sure public safety, an environment for economic development of the citizenry and an atmosphere of freedom and liberty. More or less, a majority of the citizens agree to this context, and are aware that they need to abide by the laws of the state and be productive to contribute to economic development of the nation. Therefore, a national curriculum, designed so that the new generation can learn basic skills to contribute productively to the wellbeing of the nation and play the role of the responsible and law-abiding citizens to ensure an overall surrounding of public safety, is an asset to the nation.

However, the goals of public safety and wellbeing may not be achieved rather will be deteriorated if the national curriculum forces upon the diverse segments of the citizens ideas and values that are contradictory to their declared identity. For example, although all the people should learn the official languages of the state, however, they should also be given adequate opportunities to learn and nurture their own mother tongue. Similar can be said about other aspects of cultures of different ethnicities of a nation. Moreover, religious or cultural ideologies of the majority should not be forced upon the minority in the name of national curriculum in any way which may even result in civil war and disintegration of the nation itself.

Hence, it is recommended that national curriculum consisting of shared goals and interests of the people should be taught to all the students keeping sufficient spaces of dissent for the divergent ideologies and interests of the various subgroups present in the nation.