A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is suggested that all the students of a country should be brought under the same curruculum until they reach the next stage: the college life. While this may seem a very remarkable advice at first, there are many unwanted ramifications if this decision is followed by the government of the nation. To be precise, the students should not be forced to go through the same curriculum even if it ends before college.

Every student of a country is different; one student may be very much interested in science and wants to focus on subjects related to science in his/her school life whereas another student may find science very tedious and frightening and therefore would prefer subjects where presence of science is limited. In this scenario, if these two students are forced to study in a curriculum where science is pervasive and compulsory, one student will gladly accept but the second one will not be willing to study there. While this enactment of a single curriculum serves the purpose of the first student, it undoubtedly hinders the progress of the second student. Moreover, even if the second student can change his/her medium of education after when entering college, it remains unclear if he/she could make through the school level in the first place.

In addition, a country is inhabited by people with different cultures, eclectic views, various languages. These are some crucial characteristics that give them their own existence in that nation and are usually held as very valuable to them. However, actions, such as one that could make them to communicate in a different language will not be taken very lightly by them. For example, a student who prefers speaking in Bangla will be dissuaded and stultified if he.she comes to know that national curriculum accepts nothing but English. This could really hurt the potentiality of that student because the student, although, very genius and creative. may fail to express in a language in which he/she is not adept.

In a nutshell, even if the student has the option to switch to any curriculum he/she wants in his/her college life, the enforcement and the obligation to study in a fixed curriculum in his/her primary level of education will largely affect his/her progress in the later life. This action can even cause talented students get so demotivated that they might develop a perennial distaste for education and thus the number of dropouts could also rise by a significant amount.

Therefore, before taking important and apocryphal decisions like this, the government must ensure that these actions will have sufficient positve outcomes and in no way give place for any unwanted and detrimental consequences.