Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The question of if preservation of certain areas is beneficial to the human race is an intricate one. Some believe the preservation of any remaining wilderness areas is not advantageous to humans, especially if these areas can be used to economic gain. However, nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their national state because this could prevent extinction of certain animals and we can expand our knowledge of nature.

First, by preserving wilderness areas, we can aid in the prevention of extinction for other plants and animals. For example, it is widely known that the pandas are endangered animals and can potentially go extinct if not extremely cautious. By taking care of the areas they reside, we can prolong the life of these animals or even stop the extinction process in general. Every animal and plant play a specific role in the community they are habitants of. This role is advantageous to some and disadvantageous to others. So, if an entire species goes extinct, this could lead to the struggle or even downfall of another species. In other words, saving a community from extinction can stop a domino effect that could come into play. Because of this, the preservation of the wilderness is important and should be kept save.

Furthermore, preserving the wilderness areas can help us broaden our understanding of the natural world. Take into consideration the endangered honeybee species. Honeybees have an important role in making honey, but they also have other purposes. By preserving the honeybee habitats, we can learn more about them and put puzzle pieces together to see how things work together or work against each other. Learning such processes can help us understand the intelligence of certain species, what specific roles are played by each creature and how one aspect effects another. In turn, preserving such areas will aid in the advancement of science and scientific processes, providing us with more knowledge of the Earth we all call home.

Finally, some may argue that the preservation of wilderness areas is disadvantageous to the humans and can hinder us from economic gain. Imagine a wilderness area in a heavily populated town and to expand this town, the city council want to build a shopping mall and train transportation to attract more residents. To do this, they need to destroy the wilderness area, but in doing so, it will bring more attention and add more attractive features for the public. Although tearing down the wilderness will help in the advancement of the human society, it will destroy the home of other creatures. The human species is not the most relevant species and it is not the only species that live on Earth. We may be among the most intelligent species on the planet, but that does not give us the right to help the death of other creatures. So, it would be unfair for us to think we are superior and destroy the homes of other animals and plants.

Though believing the preservation of wilderness areas is not beneficial to the human race has valid points, these claims do not outweigh the benefits of the opposing side. Thus, nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas.