Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state even if these areas could be developed for economic gain Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

The proposition that natural sites should be protected by the law in nations is reasonable under certain circumstances. On the other hand, it might overlook the multifaceted roles of nations, for example, attaining economic achievements and improving the quality of life of the people.

Admittedly, protecting the natural resources is one of the most crucial factor for nations. The ramifications of global warming is growing severe and causes the extinction of many species. As the severeity of global warming grows faster, lots of developed countries strive to minimize the negative impact of the modernization, for instance holding international conferences and forums about sustainable development every year and passing laws of protecting wilderness environments. In particular, the aboriginal areas in Australia, is utterly protected by the law of Australian government. The law constrains the number of visitors a day and only professional tour guides and companies can operate tour programs for international visitors. The government guarantees that nobody can destroy the the wilderness areas and local aboriginal culture in law. Australian people believe that it is our duty to preserve limited natural resources and remain them for future generations.

However, the claim might not always be reasonable in certain cases. Historically, there are some cases that prioritize achieving economic goals rather than preserving environmental sustainability. For example, in 2018, South Korea developed specific wilderness areas in Gariwang Mountain, where is the habit of many wild species, to hold Pyeongchang Winter Olympic. Because of the winter olympic, Pyeongchang, one of the smallest city in South Korea, successfully attracted international visitors. It revitalized the local economy by organizing the city development plan for the Olympic that includes building tourist accommodations, transporations, and ammenities. It not only improved the economy of Pyeongchang, but also enhanced the reputation of South Korea.

In conclusion, it might not always be reasonable to protect wilderness areas in law. The government should consider the economic and social roles as well to satisfy the people in nation.