Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

For centuries, human activities have had tremendous impact on natural wilderness of the earth. The size of wilderness have declined rapidly over the years. It is, thus, understandable that environmentalists would want legislature to pass over laws that preserve remaining wilderness. Though the viewpoint is fair it does not work in poverty ridden states where people are suffering over basic human needs such as food and shelter.

The purpose of the above statement is to bridge the discussion of national heritage and well being of the citizens. Success of this kind of policy is dubious because the public would never support something which limit their chances of making a decent livelihood. Instead, the land of wilderness might be used for setting up industries and providing employment and other economic activities. It could also attract further development of supporting businesses on nearby lands. It would make little sense for the government to pass laws that curb employment opportunities for the citizens, especially in developing nations. If the government is democratic, it would further abate their enthusiasm to pass a policy which the public is against.

To further emphasise my point, consider the example to Boston, a well known state in India which was covered in wilderness for majority of last century. The housing prices were towering so much so that not a single family in general population could have afforded to pay rent. Famine and depression struck for quite a few months and mortality rate suffered greatly. Only after the preservation policy got stricken down, did the lifestyle of people improved. Again, it further proves that such a policy will not always work as intended and care should be taken to examine the context, the local culture and the economic situation.

However, even for nations that do not suffer with the problems of housing or food shortage, it makes more sense to consider a conservation policy than a preservation policy. The key difference being that the former allows development in a more sustainable manner. For example, under conservation program, wilderness could be integrated with tourism industry where small houses and hotels could be setup to facilitate the program. Efforts should be made to minimise the damage while getting maximum benefits through the resources. This policy would also get more support from the public and in turn benefit the government.

Consequently, it is evident that for developing nations, where the available land and food are not up to the demand, it is more beneficial to utilise the land of the wilderness for sake of the livelihood of the citizens. Even for developed countries, a conservation policy would be a better approach than a preservation one for the reasons laid above.