In order to become well rounded individuals all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry novels mythology and other types of imaginative literature

Real world and the problems associated with it differ from that of imaginative literature. The assumption in the statemnent is that reading such literature like poetry , novels etc will help all the college students to become well - rounded individuals. College students are students in a phase wherein they continuosly learn and try to understand the real world and have come out of the safe school bubble . Their next phase of life demands them to be more responsible , independent and problem solver. All these capabilities are inculcated through real time problem solving and teaching them how to work and properly function in today's date.

In contrast to this, the author believes that imaginative reading material will help to achieve this which does not sound convincing . Imaginative literature is based on unreal, fictional and sometimes does not even makes sense. Imaginative novels and poetry contain imaginative ,unreal characters very different form that of human beings.So they way they act, think and their lives will not prove to be helpful for college students to tackle situations and act.

With all this understanding it is now clear what exactly might help individuals to become well-rounded and what might not.Speaking of mythologies, these stories belong to a very long gone era where things were different than that of now.So students will not be able to use the knowledge it contains in today's world.

However, not all college student desire to become an all-rounder. Some are very specific to their domains and dedicate this age to learn and work in it. Reading might not be something they do more oftenly. Students read all kinds of books with different intentions. For example , to relax, to learn etc and these books belong to various gerne.

Thus it can be concluded that for a college student who desires to become well-rounded should do more than just confinig to reading imaginary iterature and focus more on problems and situations realted to present world to actually achieve his or her goals.