Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Like base of the pyramid is the most important part to supports all the structure above it. Similarly, I believe that some unique idea is essential part for other innovations to happen. In a nutshell, originality can defined as something derived from old ideas or it can be a creation that is never thought before. I think, single definition cannot encompass all the meanings. To advocate this viewpoint, some examples will be presented in the passage below.

In my opinion, originality also means unwrapping some mystery and coming up with unique thoughts. Let me embellish this point. We all know how satellites are revolutionizing the technological world around us. But, we cannot launch satellites without propulsion technology, which is the main part of satellite launching procedure and is not merely an amalgam of some ideas put together in some fashionable form. It is something new and innovative. Hence, I believe that coming up with new stuff also constitutes as an originality.

As an illustration, we can also see example of Facebook and other social networks. These ideas aptly fits into the definition of originality mentioned in the statement. There was existing idea which helped in development of these new websites. Hence, it is irrefutable that novel ideas are required for further development and innovation. I am not denying that new social networks are not original, they are original. But it is important to realize that initial true ideas of social networks are also part of originality.

In addition to the above mentioned examples, I believe that there are other places where humankind have come up with new things by not just putting some stuff together in a cutting edge way. These are real, path-breaking things and are not just mixture of some old ideas. I love internet and it is the most important part of everyone's life. Internet in its raw form was invented as ARPANET for military purpose, but nowadays, everyone uses a modified version ARPANET. Present state of internet is derived from old idea came up by DARPA. DARPA's idea is the base and was entirely novel and is a true original stuff.

It is apparent by now that originality can be using old ideas and coming putting them differently or coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition of Originality mentioned in the statement give in the question.