"People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it."

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

Respect can be displayed in many various forms. From awe at a person’s achievements to tremble of fear at the potential misuse of the person’s power, respect is usually directed to the powerful. Some argue that people most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it. While some powerful people are shown reverence and lauded for choosing not to use their power, many are truly respected when they fully exercise the power in their hands.

It is true that some powerful people, such as social leaders, are lionized for their refrained use of power. For example, Gandhi, who led the way to Indian independence through peaceful measures, had the potential of achieving the same goal through more violent ways. With many followers and such significant influence, he could have chosen to revolt against the oppressing government. While this can be seen as abstaining from use of his potential power, it would be more correct to interpret it as him fully exercising his power. He exercised the power he gained from the support of others to gain independence of India; his activism strongly suggests that his power was in fact, fully utilized, just not in a violent way. Therefore, leaders, or people with power, are respected and receive accolades when they exercise their power in the socially accepted way.

On the other hand, respect can be shown in form of fear. One example of fearful respect would be the one North Koreans feel for their leader, Jeong Un Kim. As the dictator of North Korea, he deifies himself and enjoys his sole power and leadership in the country. With his numerous propagandas and public display of his power, such as public executions of traitors, he has succeeded to gain his respect through fear. North Koreans accept him as the leader partially due to the fact that they would get punished if they don’t. As shown by his dictatorship, some powerful people are respected and viewed with fear when their power is in use.

In conclusion, the powerful are respected when they fully exercise their power, either in a way that advances society or in a way that makes others tremble in fear. As shown by Gandhi and Dictator Kim, it is clear that powerful people, such as social leaders, are viewed in reverence when their power is utilized. A powerful person who refrains from power may not be actually doing so, as in Gandhi’s case.