As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

I disagree with this claim for several reasons. The 21st century has managed to progressed so far in the field of science and technology only by ignoring this claim. If the scientists believed that their innovations are leading to a deterioration of the human brain, would they have gone forward with them? Probably not. Yes, the ultimate aim of technology IS to make tasks easier, it definitely does not want the human abilities to stop evolving.

While it's correct to say, for example, that if a student uses the calculator to perform simple calculations like 4+3 and 5*4, he is definitely not doing himself any favors, it's important to remember that the calculator was NOT made for that purpose. The calculator was made to ease the task of large calculations, for example, finding the sum of 4331909 and 566749282. Programming, is done to ease tasks which require computing such sums multiple times. So, it's important to remember the situations in which using technology to make something easier is justified. Nobody can do that but the user himself. Once this factor is taken into consideration, the uses of technology are more credible.

It's also important to remember that relying on technology is not as easy as they say. There's a learning curve associated with every new product. I remember how difficult it was to get my mother to be able to even check her mail on a web browser. That means people are exercising their brains to get used to technology. Relying on technology actually enables people to spend their mental and temporal resources on other, more important things. As a Computer Science student, I can confirm this. Working on a face recognition research project, I spend my time trying out various frameworks on my data-set, and having written one script to compute the accuracy of a particular framework, I do not need to spend my time repeating those computations for every framework.

Similarly, creating such products which enable people to do daily tasks easily, is not trivial itself. Creating robots, autonomous cars, security systems is complex. How can the average human intelligence be reducing, when such convoluted processes are being made possible by humans.

Navigation, something I rely on to a great extent, has made it possible for me to understand complex routes. Online dictionaries, which offer etymology and pronunciations, have made my understanding of the English language so much better. I manage my finances better by using a simple utility on my phone. I make to-do lists, set reminders, plan my day better using apps on my phone. Nothing in this list is affecting my ability to think, as I am the one who is telling my device what to do, and when to do it.

Before using some technological solution to the task at hand, one should always ask themselves if there is a solution which does not involve technology and what is the cost associated with choosing the second solution over the former. If the cost is not too much, he should go ahead with the latter. If, however, there is a significant cost, there is no harm in going ahead with the former.