as people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Proponents of technology have regularly claimed that the advent of technological devices such as smartphones and tablets, and phenomena such as the Internet and Google has resulted in the flourishing of our potentials and abilities. Even though these claims might be true to an extent, a review of research published on the effect of technology on our cognitive abilities show that our mental abilities have significantly decreased during the past half-century.

First, it is known that pleasure reading has a significant role in our cognitive abilities and burgeons skills such as imagining and induction. Studies show that excessive reliance on technology among the younger generation has lowered the average reading hours for them and this is alarming. Nowadays, the main form of media consumed by younger people is in the form of visual media such as movies and video games. Even though visual media is easier to imbibe, it is detrimental to cognitive abilities such as creative thinking because of the very fact that there is no content left to think about; all the material are readily offered to the audience. Classrooms today heavily rely on visual media such as PowerPoint presentations and graphical content but it is necessary to make a balance between new forms of content and classical techniques. When students are taught using instruments such as the classical whiteboard, they need to make an effort to picture the content taught and this will help them with certain mental skills.

Secondly, current technology necessitates multi-tasking abilities. When using your smartphone to look up how to draw a ternary phase diagram, you may face the ads for the current price of Bitcoin, receive Facebook messages and get a video call from your aunt in Skype. This nature of technology makes it difficult to concentrate on a task that needs your complete attention. Even though multi-tasking is an important mental ability, there is a limit to the extent that we can play along. In a study, a group of students had access to the internet during a lecture and a control group did not. Both groups were examined to measure the amount of information had been gained. The group without access to the internet performed better. This simple study shows the importance of the lack of multi-tasking during tasks that need concentration.

With all the harm that technology has caused our mental skills, research shows that it has been beneficial for visual intelligence. Reviewing the data from the past decades, we see that now visual intelligence stays unchanged as one ages, contrary to before the age of the internet which it decreased with age.

All in all, even though technology has had certain benefits in the society, relying merely on it can cause severe damage to our abilities that make us human.