As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Human kinds are always seeking for making their life easier. In order to do so, many quantitative and qualitative jumps are made from Stone Age to well-equipped 21st century. Technology is developing and modifying day by day. Hence, the life of people becomes easier day by day. However, with advancing technology, most of the people are losing their critical thinking and reasoning by relying more and more on technology.

When I was in class five, I was able to do complex addition and multiplication problem by my mind. But now, I need a calculator or mobile apps to do simple addition and multiplication. Don’t you think that this is a degrading of my ability? Likewise, when there was no mobile phone, people used to remember all the necessary phone number in their mind. However, after the abundance of the mobile phone, people are saving all phone numbers in the digital contact list. They even do not know the phone number of their immediate relatives. If they lose their gadget, they lose everything.

The more rely on technology makes people lethargic. If we need any information, instead of thinking we take help with Google. If we need to buy anything instead of going to the supermarket, we simply do online shopping. Instead of visiting the family member, we do video chat. Even our office is in walking distance, we use a car to go. People want to avoid analog clock to see time. I think these representative examples are enough to explain how technology makes people lazy and degrading their ability.

It does not mean that we do not have to rely on technology. We should use it. Actually, technology is made for us to upgrade living standards. However, we also have to care about own ability. We should have to use technology as a medium, not as a principle. We have to be in access to technology but we don’t have to be dependent on technology.

By making a long story short, despite technology have many advantages in the modern era, if we cannot use it properly, it will deteriorate our ability to think.