“As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Here’s a question: Do you memorize the phone number of your closest friend? Can you write down your grandparent’s home address without looking it up in your phone? In my case, I can’t. I have to look it up in my phone to answer those questions. Interesting thing is, that I used to answer those questions before. When phones weren’t good enough like these days, I used to memorize all the phone numbers of my closest friends, parents, and even neighbors, because phones back then weren’t that easy to save those informations.

Listening to this example, some might say that my thinking-ability has deteriorated due to the advancement of technology. However, I strongly believe that’s not true. I can surely say that high-technology nowadays improves human’s ability to think better in a more-creative way, and thus make a better world for us to live. Here’s why:

First of all, constant and aggressive advancement of technology during the past several years itself is created by high-level of creative reasoning and thinking from human brain. For example, many improvements in IT business such as social-networking services or cloud-computing technology became available using sophisticated programming languages. Use of those languages requires several abilities: an ability of rigorous logical analysis in order to make a flawless program without a single bug, and an ability to make a creative algorithm in order to make a lighter and faster program that allows execution in every computer world wide. These necessity of thinking power for technological advancement surely belies the notion that high-tech does reduce our strength of brain work.

Second, whole-new problems created by technological advancements allow humans to think of a whole-new, creative solution, using their ability to think. Traffic jam, for instance, is a new social problem occurred by the widespread individual transportations. When cars were not cheap enough, so not everyone could buy their own cars, there were no such problems like ‘rush hour’ or ‘traffic jam’ in most cities. However, as industrial engineering technologies developed, cars became economically available to almost everyone, becoming a wide-spread individual transportation tool, and resulted in an increase of traffic. We humans, fortunately, are working on this problem using many creative ideas. Waze, Google maps, and many other apps navigate us the ways where there’s less traffic, and try to make traffic flows distributed for everyone’s good. This kind of example would not be able if humans’ ability of thinking got deteriorated by the advancement of technology.

Third, advanced technology lets people to leave simple calculation, memorizing, repetitive tasks for automated computers and machines, and allow us to focus on other tasks that require creative and critical thinking. The very first example I mentioned in this essay, the example of memorizing people’s phone numbers and address, is a perfect example for this. Instead of spending precious time to memorize simple numbers and letters, people can spend time doing creative brain works, logical reasoning, or else.

At this point, however, one simple condition (or assumption) that gives true validity to all these reasoning finally appears: Humans, as a whole, try to be creative and logical, and are likely to think.

If this single assumption does not hold true, all these reasoning becomes ephemeral and evanescent. People would rely on the technology given at this moment, and most likely just stay at this state without thinking or dreaming about further improvements. However, I don’t believe that’s true. Dreaming for a better future is our humans’ innate behavior. That’s how humans survived for long history of time, achieved an apex of material civilization.